Trauma Systems & Operations Committee

Leadership Panel: Patrick Phillips (STAR Flight), Jim Jewell (Lockhart/Caldwell County EMS), Katie Foarde (Dell Seton Medical Center at the University of Texas), Dr. Ernest Gonzalez (St. David's South Austin Medical Center), Dr. Janna Welch (Ascension Seton Medical Center - Hays), and Tara Neely (St. David's Medical Center Round Rock)
Meeting Occurs: Quarterly (*with additional workgroups meetings as needed)

Responsibilities of the committee include:
  • Provide ongoing performance assessment and improvement activities designed to optimize trauma patient care
  • Optimize patient outcomes and system efficiencies for field transport and inter-facility transfers
  • Distribute and communicate pertinent information to other committees within the RAC

Current Projects:
  • Feasibility of using cold stored whole blood
  • Trauma Alert - Red Blue Criteria Development
  • Revisions and Updates to EMS/Trauma Systems Plan