Regional Care

Trauma Care

CATRAC Trauma Care Mission One of CATRAC’s missions is to create an organized trauma care system that provides the best possible care to all trauma patients within TSA-O. Our goal is to reduce the incidence of trauma through education, data collection and analysis, and performance improvement. CATRAC also focuses on planning system access and communications, medical direction, triage process, bypass and diversion protocols for major trauma patients, use of air medical resources, and a system performance improvement program.

For more information, please attend our Trauma Committee meetings.

Trauma Facilities by Designation

Stroke Care

CATRAC Stroke Care Mission CATRAC’s missions regarding stroke care includes providing leadership and guidance necessary to sustain a stroke system of care within the eleven designated counties we serve; improving the level of care provided to those persons living in or traveling through the region; and facilitating stroke awareness education to the public and healthcare providers in our region. CATRAC also strives to ensure the quality of care provided to the stroke patient is at its highest level through work and cooperation of our standing committees and work groups. The regional stroke plan also addresses triage of the stroke patient, use of air medical resources and choosing the appropriate facility for managing the patient.

For more information, please attend our Stroke Committee meetings.

Stroke Centers by Designation

Level I (Comprehensive) Stroke Facilities
  • Dell Seton Medical Center at the University of Texas
  • St. David’s Medical Center
  • Seton Medical Center - Austin
Level II (Primary) Stroke Facilities
  • Baylor Scott & White Medical Center - Lakeway
  • Baylor Scott & White Medical Center - Round Rock
  • Central Texas Medical Center
  • Seton Medical Center – Hays
  • Seton Medical Center – Williamson
  • St. David's Georgetown Hospital
  • St. David’s North Austin Medical Center
  • St. David’s Round Rock Medical Center
  • St. David's South Austin Medical Center

STEMI/Cardiac Care

In 2009, the CATRAC Mission: Lifeline Cardiac Care Workgroup was created with the mission to optimize the outcome of cardiovascular emergencies through multi-disciplinary collaboration within the CATRAC Region. The major focus was to decrease death and disability from ST-Elevation Myocardial Infarction (STEMI). Early identification of a STEMI is crucial in order to minimize damage to the heart muscle. The regional STEMI plan was developed so that patients presenting with suspect cardiac events could be rapidly assessed and transported to the nearest appropriate hospital for treatment. The workgroup continues to assess the region, provide coordination, prioritization, and development of cardiac planning regionally and across the State.

For more information, please attend our CATRAC Mission: Lifeline Cardiac Care Workgroup meetings.

Perinatal Care

The CATRAC Perinatal Workgroup endeavors to improve the care of pregnant women and newborns in Trauma Service Area-O (TSA-O). The workgroup consists of neonatal and maternal leaders seeking to better understand community needs and encourage collaboration and coordination. As part of the new state guidelines: facilities need to have neonatal designation by Sept 1, 2018 to receive Medicaid payments for newborn care; facilities need to have maternity designation by Sept 1, 2020 to receive Medicaid payment for obstetrical care by Sept 1, 2020. A requirement of designation is “active participation” in the Perinatal Regional Advisory Council, which has subsequently been defined as the one of the current twenty two (22) Trauma Service Areas. CATRAC is the Regional Advisory Council serving TSA-O.

For more information, please attend our Perinatal/Maternal Workgroup meetings.

Level III (Intensive Care) Neonatal Facilities
  • North Austin Medical Center
  • Seton Medical Center - Austin
Level IV (Advanced Intensive Care) Neonatal Facilities
  • Dell Children's Medical Center
  • St. David's Medical Center